Hitachi RB24EAP

Click Here for More Reviews

Product Features

23.9 cc commercial grade 2 stroke engine provides excellent performance and reliability
Class-leading air volume at 441CFM allows you to get the job done faster
Lightweight (only 8.6 lbs) & well-balanced for comfortable use and less fatigue
Auto return stop switch resets the blower to the “on” position for hassle free starts
7 Year Consumer Use Warranty

Click Here for More Reviews

Product Description

Amazon.com Product Description

Built to make quick work of big cleanup tasks, the Hitachi RB24EAP Handheld Blower uses a 23.9 cc commercial-grade engine. It features PureFire low-emission two-stroke engine technology, a large two-finger throttle lever, and an auto-return stop switch. It offers an air volume of 441 cubic feet per minute and delivers air speeds up to 170 miles per hour for effective debris removal.

callout box top
Handheld Blower
At a Glance:

  • 23.9 cc, 1.13-horsepower commercial-grade engine
  • 441 cfm air volume with speeds up to 170 miles per hour for effective debris removal
  • Auto-return stop switch simplifies startups
  • PureFire low-emission two-stroke engine technology reduces fumes
  • CARB Tier III compliant
callout box bottom
Hitachi handheld blower
A 1.13 horsepower engine generates air speeds of 170 miles an hour making debris removal fast and easy. View larger.
7 Year Consumer Warranty

Efficient, Low-Emission Engine
Whether your cleanup job is big or small, your blower can only perform as well as the engine behind it. This Hitachi blower’s 23.9 cc, 1.13-horsepower commercial-grade engine features PureFire low-emission two-stroke technology. Fewer fumes mean safer operation and less environmental impact. This design makes the blower CARB Tier III compliant for use in California.

High Air Volume and Velocity for Quick Debris Movement
The blower produces an air velocity of 170 miles per hour when used with the included taper nozzle. It has an air volume of 441 cubic feet per minute, which means it’s suitable for big jobs–such as autumn leaf removal–and quick tasks–such as removing stray grass clippings.

Lightweight Design for User Comfort
Thanks to a lightweight design, this handheld blower is easy to maneuver. It weighs 8.6 pounds for reduced user fatigue, and it features a large two-finger throttle lever for easy operation.

For further convenience, the blower’s auto-return stop switch automatically resets to the “on” position to simplify startups.

Warranty Information
This Hitachi handheld blower is backed by a seven-year consumer warranty. When used in non-rental commercial applications, the blower is covered by a two-year warranty. When used in rental applications, it is covered by a one-year warranty.

What’s in the Box
Hitachi handheld blower and taper nozzle.

Click Here for More Reviews


One Comment

  1. Comment by Leaf Blower Review:

    1.0 out of 5 stars Defective gas lines., November 25, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    Same problem as others have described. Faulty gas lines. I would not have purchased this item…. if I had “believed” the one star reviews for this blower.

    5.0 out of 5 stars Blows the pine needles from a wet sidewalk, November 25, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    So far this thing is working great. I don’t have an excuse to stay inside on a wet day, this Hitachi can blow most of the pine needles off my driveway and sidewalk even when rain soaked. Arm gets tired and I switch hands after a while, but overall the convenience outweighs the weight. If you have a really large space to clear you might want to consider a backpack blower, but for smaller jobs its very good.

    5.0 out of 5 stars Best blower for your buck!, November 23, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    Purchased this blower on a Saturday evening and had it at my door Tuesday morning. I bought it to replace the blower attachment on my Ryobi trimmer, which is so loud it’ll wake the dead. Following the instructions, it started on the second pull and right away I was surprised at how quiet it ran, even at full throttle! It had no trouble clearing my driveway of leaves and acorns, nor did it struggle blowing leaves out of the pool cover. Just make sure you read the instructions before using, it’s only about 3 pages. Also be sure to use 2-cycle engine oil only!

    5.0 out of 5 stars Competition for a back pack blower!, November 22, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    My neighbor was so impressed w/my new blower, that he purchased one. I am 80 years old and can easily handle this extremely efficient blower. It is very easy to start!! My neighbor says that the Hitachi blower gives him the results of a back pack blower! This blower meets all of my needs!

    4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive performance for the price, November 20, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    The packaging is unimpressive compared to other yard equipment: no starter bottle of 2-stroke oil, really badly translated instructions, kinda short nozzle length, and mine was missing the warranty registration card, required for the $30 rebate (they better honor it anyway). That is the bad stuff. Solid build quality, and amazingly easy to start. Several reviews state that the unit is largely identical to the commercial Tanaka units, which bodes well for durability and reliability. The engine seemed really tight the first few runs, and took a few minutes to be willing to rev, but it runs well. Super quiet compared to a previous Ryobi (11 years old when the fuel system failed. Probably carburetor, but fuel lines are notoriously troublesome in yard equipment, and not worth fixing an 11 year old machine). Thought the cone nozzle was a sketchy gimmick to claim higher output velocity, but it works well. Cleaned up the yard with it, and was going to use our blower vac (the equally impressive Husqvarna 125bvx) to do leaf cleanup after, but the Hitachi worked so well we decided the leaf cleanup was good enough for now. Manual states 20:1-50:1 gas/oil ratio, with the 50:1 required for California pollution requirements, but no clarity beyond that. We have various equipment requiring 32:1 to 50:1 and generally use about 40:1 in everything. Also recommended 89 octane gas (is that so you don’t use 87? Is 93 okay? Recent articles have advised premium to avoid higher alcohol, which seems to cause problems in 2-stroke engines.) It also says not to use marine 2-stroke oil. I have heard that it is not as good for air cooled engines, but never saw that recommendation spelled out.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    1.0 out of 5 stars It worked once, anyway, November 19, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    The first time I used this product, it worked OK, though it was difficult to get started. The second time I tried to use it, today, I couldn’t get it started. Seems like maybe the fuel primer isn’t working. Waste of money. Good thing I kept my electric blower, even though having to deal with the cord drives me crazy. That’s why I thought I would try a gas-powered unit. This product was obviously the wrong choice.

    Update: Next day. Read some more reviews. Like others, I had a black fuel line that had disconnected itself. Had to unsnap the black plastic housing that surrounds the carburetor and remove two long screws to disconnect the carburetor from the rest of the unit. There’s a black fuel line that goes from just next to the back of the primer bulb to the carburetor. It was disconnected at the primer bulb side. There’s a spring inside the line which was showing at the end of the fuel line. Pushed that spring back into the line and reconnected the fuel line. It immediately popped off again. Removed the fuel line from both ends, turned it around and reconnected both ends, and it stayed connected (for now, anyway). Performed normal starting procedure and it started right up. Not too bad for a guy who’s not that handy. But, really, Hitachi, I shouldn’t have to do that.

    1.0 out of 5 stars Can’t start it…, November 19, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    Looks great very compact and lightweight only if I could get it started right out of the box. Will be sending it back under warranty. I think they may have a wiring problem in the kill switch since I can’t even get a sputter out of the engine.

    5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, November 19, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    I purchased this blower so I would have an extra one for yard cleanup. I already own a Craftsman blower, but it is getting old and has always been difficult to start. The Hitachi starts immediately, and it isn’t any heavier than the Craftsman. The Hitachi seems to have more blowing power as well. I cleaned my entire back yard in under two hours, which was definitely the fastest time I have ever been able to do it in. I would estimate that my back yard is approximately 3/4 of an acre – not a small area. And there were a TON of leaves from my oak trees. This blower is fun to use and makes yard cleanup much more enjoyable; I don’t dread it as much as I used to!

    5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Product, November 18, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    Purchased this product about a month ago and it’s been a life/back saver! I have about a half acre of land that is filled with pine and maple trees. If you are looking for a solid, inexpensive, powerful (for its size) blower then I would definitely recommend this one. The 7-year warranty is just icing on the cake!

    5.0 out of 5 stars very good blower, November 16, 2011
    This review is from: Hitachi RB24EAP 23.9cc 2 Stroke 170 MPH Gas Powered Handheld Blower (CARB Compliant) (Lawn & Patio)
    This is my 2nd gas blower, I had a pouland lite, it was very hard to start and it flooded easy. The H starts with in the the first 2 pulls! This blower is every thing that the reviews said that it is. Only thing I wish it had was cruse control.
    The trigger is light so it’s not really a problem. 1 thing that none of the others has is a 7 year warranty, what does that tell you? I haved used the H blower about 7 times and am very pleased so far.